WW2 Allies – Slovak Republic 1939–45

The Slovak Republic (Slovak: Slovenská republika), also known as the first Slovak Republic (Slovak: prvá Slovenská republika) or the Slovak State (Slovak: slovenský štát), in Czech and Slovak historical literature commonly referred as Slovenský štát, and has been regarded as a client state of Nazi Germany, which existed from 14 March 1939 to 4 April 1945. It existed on the majority of the territory of present-day Slovakia, without its current southern and eastern parts, which were then part of Hungary. The Republic bordered Germany, the Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia, General Government (German-occupied remnant of Poland), and Hungary.


The Slovak State was recognized by Germany and several other states including the Provisional Government of the Republic of China, Croatia, El Salvador, Estonia, Italy, Hungary, Japan, Lithuania, Manchukuo, Mengjiang, Romania, the Soviet Union, Spain, Switzerland, and Vatican City. The first Slovak Republic’s legal existence was retroactively nullified by the World War II victorious allies through the nullification of the Munich Agreement and all its consequences.

Just Click on Any Picture Below to Make it Large for Viewing!!


Assorted Gallery of Photos


Leave a Reply

German Military History with a focus on World War 2 History including other areas of German History